RSS

Grace & Spiritual Warfare

05 Apr

What’s so amazing about grace? I’ve been pondering this all weekend & how hard it is to give even though it’s been given to me time after time after time.

I’ve recently come under attack from the devil. He was trying to get me to react to a situation in a way that would have made matters a whole lot worse. Satan kept reminding me of how I used to be and how “justified” I would have been in my response. When that didn’t work, he brought up a very legitimate need that I have (and have always had) for being stuck up for. The thought being, if I can’t speak, then who will speak for me…someone needs to tell this person that it is not ok to speak of people in this manner…this person needs to know this!

While venting to a friend, I had a moment of clarity. I told Kim that in spite of how right and justified I would be, I felt the Holy Spirit telling me to extend Grace to a person that is unwilling to do the same. That infuriated me because I wanted to be right…I am right! What I wanted to do was have a sit down and since this person doesn’t “know” me, then I would “show” me (get my drift?). I wanted to redefine the nature of our association. I wanted to express all the hurt I felt and how deeply wounded I was.

Then I read Psalm 35. Praise God! He met me right where I was. The scripture was jumping off the pages. It was as if God Himself sent David to remind me that GOD will fight for me. GOD will be my voice and speak on my behalf! I was also reminded that we struggle not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms! Instead of letting my ‘old-man’ handle things, I needed to put on the full armor of God and STAND!

How does Grace fit into all of this? A few months ago I was presented with a unique opportunity to show Grace to someone. I had every ‘right’ to reject this person and to walk away. But before I could even begin to think on those things, the Holy Spirit placed a mirror in front of me and whispered “Amazing Grace how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me”. Amazing Grace…Amazing Grace…Amazing Grace! God was finally cashing in on “To whom much is given, much is required”. And wow, have I been given much. When I look back at my wretched life, my vision is skewed because of the Grace that Christ poured all over it. Lying…Grace! Stealing…Grace! Cheating…Grace! Self-Indulgent…Grace! Self-Righteous…GRACE! Christ’s Grace has permeated my life so thoroughly that I need to be quick to extend Grace. It’s hard, but it’s necessary!

Then the Lord gave me this comfort this morning:

There is a fountain filled with blood,
Drawn from Immanuel’s veins,
And sinners plunged beneath that flood
Lose all their guilty stains.
The dying thief rejoiced to see
That fountain in His day;
And there have I, though vile as he,
Washed all my sins away.
Dear dying Lamb, Thy precious blood
Shall never lose its pow’r,
Till all the ransomed church of God
Are safe, to sin no more.
E’er since by faith I saw the stream
Thy flowing wounds supply,
Redeeming love has been my theme,
And shall be till I die.
When this poor, lisping, stamm’ring tongue
Lies silent in the grave,
Then in a nobler, sweeter song,
I’ll sing Thy pow’r to save.

…Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die! Washed ALL my sins away, washed ALL my sins away! Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die!

 
 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Grace & Spiritual Warfare

  1. Cindy

    April 5, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Oh, Heather, what a precious word for me. “Oh, to grace how great a debtor DAILY I’m constrained to be…”

    Thank you for sharing your heart…God is so glorified!!

     
  2. Mylissa

    April 5, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Love this word…you are a great writer…praying for you my friend!

     
  3. dmichael

    April 6, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Preach PREACHER!!!
    You are very strong and courageous!!

     
  4. DutWhenebut

    May 16, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

